A+ A- Aa
Share this page:

under construction

UNIVERS: The European Cross-border University

Led by the University of Perpignan, the UNIVERS alliance project focuses on cross-border territories and involves a consortium of 8 universities with 110,000 students, 8,000 teachers-researchers, 3,600 administrative staff, and 3,700 PhD candidates.

Our goal is to create an effective university structure that will make it possible to supersede Europe’s national borders, especially in cross-border territories. The UNIVERS project will be a benchmark in the knowledge and development of cross-border territories, with a strong vocation to contribute to the interweaving of cultural and social aspects that allow the overcoming of physical and administrative barriers.

UNIVERS will train professionals who can act and influence the social, economic and scientific development of cross-border areas thanks to a deep understanding of their particularities, challenges and opportunities.

All project actions and initiatives are in line with the promotion of common European values and a stronger European identity. Cross-border, interregional and transnational cooperation is an added value for the construction of the European Higher Education Area (EHEA).

The will of the partners is not simply to create an alliance but to give rise to a true sustainable university with its own rules, governance and structures. The geographical structure of the alliance, spread across the Southern Europe arc, brings to the fore key issues relating to both Europe’s internal cross-border situations and the EU’s Southern border.

UNIVERS aims at becoming an attractive university for European and international students. The partners’ experience in territorial and international cooperation is in itself a proof of the quality, performance and attractiveness of the future university.

  • 8 partners: University of Perpignan (France), University of the Balearic Islands (Spain), Ca’ Foscari University of Venice (Italy), University of Girona (Spain), University of Klagenfurt (Austria), University of Lleida (Spain), University Paul Valéry Montpellier (France), University of Primorska (Slovenia).
  • 6 countries: France, Spain, Italy, Slovenia, Austria, Andorra
  • 7 borders in Europe
  • + 5 associated partners: Universitat d’Andorra (Andorra), SciencesPo Toulouse (France), Cerdagne hospital (Spain), Pôle Sanitaire Cerdan (France), UNIMED (Mediterranean Universities Union)

News and events

UNIVERS Alliance is a consortium of eight universities from five countries - France, Spain, Italy, Austria, Slovenia - for the main partners including associated partners, Andorra and all countries of UNIMED consortium. In terms of geographical distribution, this alliance encompasses three of the four European geographic regions and covers cross-border territories of Southern Europe border and facing the Western and Central Mediterranean basin.
Share this page:

Date of update September 11, 2019